Anesthesia claim filing limit and copayment for anesthesia services

Time Limit for Filing Claims

Medicaid requires all claims for Anesthesiologists, CRNAs and AAs to be filed
within one year of the date of service. Refer to Section 5.1.4, Filing Limits, for
more information regarding timely filing limits and exceptions.

Diagnosis Codes
The International Classification of Diseases – 9th Revision – Clinical
Modification (ICD-9-CM) manual lists required diagnosis codes. These
manuals may be obtained by contacting the American Medical Association,

P.O. Box 10950, Chicago, IL 60610.
ICD-9 diagnosis codes must be listed to the highest number of digits possible
(3, 4, or 5 digits). Do not use decimal points in the diagnosis code field

Cost Sharing (Copayment)
Copayment amount does not apply to services provided by Anesthesiologists,
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists or Anesthesiology Assistants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *